• 5
  • 1
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
1 2 3 4 5

Trotting Raises Money For Air Ambulance

Jump Straight to Results

The last race meeting of the season is the prestigious charity meeting when the prize money is minimal and this year all proceeds will go the Air Ambulance. There is always a party atmosphere as everyone remembers the highlights of the season and looks forward to the start of next year.

The Nursery race provided a win for new driver Liz Samuel from Painscastle on her own Camden Lock from stablemate Hello Vera (Lloyd Painscastle) while Fire Lily (Williams Shrewsbury) was third.

All the races this week were straight races, no heats and finals so the first race for the punters was the baby Novice race. In this newly promoted C U Maggie (Bevan Llanddewi) with the experienced Mel Langford on board ran a good race to finish in front of last week’s winner Life Today (Hughes Builth Wells) with Turn the Paige (Perks Presteigne) in third.

The first Novice race provided another win for the notable Touch of Chaps (Thomas Llandeilo) driven by trainer Rhun Wilson, in second was Lanehouse Patch (Thomas Merthyr) with Forest Surprise (Miles Merthyr) in third. The Wow Factor added to his status with a win in the second Novice aided by owner & trainer Matt Lewis from Welshpool, in second was Brywins Sweetheart (Marr Gorslas) with Sable Sam and his owner Julie Moorhousefrom Llandinam running on well to be third.

For One Night Only (Wilson, Llanfihanagel ar arth) cemented his position as one of the top horses in Mid Wales by winning the Grade B helped as usual by Rhun Wilson with Ayr Ontario (Weigel Llanddewi Velfrey) in second and Arctic Prince (Gwatkin Evenjobb) in third.

Ithon Inmate (Price Brecon) made little of his twenty yard handicap in the first Grade A race as he and trainer Derek Pritchard flew around the track to win from Best of the Fleet (Lewis Welshpool) while No Mercy (Weigel Llanddeiw Velfrey) was third. In the second Grade A race the iconic Scoobys Dream (Williams Brecon) produced a scintillating run for Lynne Boxhall who has built up a quality relationship with the ‘special grey’ and once in front was not going to be denied as Rhyds Desire (Thomas Llandeilo) and Meadowland Hasty (Price Brecon) had to settle for the minor places.

The charity meeting is always about fun races and the first was the human race where the horses were replaced by people eager to test their fitness. Zak Lewis and Laura Bevan was first passed the post from Chelsea and Ellie Tromans while Rob Barton and son Tommie were third.

The saddle race saw Meadowland Hasty (Price Brecon) return to form under the guidance of Emma Layton with Gemma White steering Forest Surprise (Miles Merthyr) into second and No Mercy (Weigel Llanddewi Velfrey) in third.

There were six entries for the Junior race and it turned out to be a very competitive event, young Ceri Bevan encouraged the family youngster C U Maggie (Bevan Llanddewi) from the start, she responded and held off all challengers, another youngster Life Today (Hughes Builth) with her enthusiastic driver Rachel Bevan-Thomas enjoying her first drive on the horse in second, with Jessie Samuel riding her mother’s Camden Lock in third while Ellie Tromans (Brywins Sweetheart), Issy John (Forest Gump) and Anna Lewis (Kickstart) were close behind.

The non whip race was next when the eye-catching Ayr Ontario (Weigel Llanddewi Velfrey) was first over the line in front of George Gentle (Lewis Welshpool) with Paul Miles at the controls while stablemate The Wow Factor (Lewis Welshpool) was third.

In the reverse race they go clockwise instead of the usual anticlockwise direction which sometimes takes the horses by surprise but the diminutive Rhyds Desire (Thomas Llandeilo) with Rhun Wilson in the seat had no problems beating Cardigan Boy (Gale Gorslas) and Makemeamillionayr (Weigel Llanddewi Velfrey).

The Free For All was a mile and a quarter and it was the sensational Grade B, For One Night Only (Wilson Llanfihangel ar arth) who aided by trainer Rhun Wilson just secured victory from the fast finishing Ithon Inmate (Price Brecon) while Best of the Fleet (Lewis Welshpool) was third.

The final race of the day was for non drivers and with a full compliment of nine runners picking a winner was never going to be easy, Jayne Bevan well known in the saddle jumped on the sulky behind Tyssul Pennylane (Broome, Bromfield) and they swept into the lead and came home in front of Arctic Prince (Gwatkin Evenjobb) with first timer Ollie Preece aboard while Habberley Playboy (Johns & Gittins Shrewsbury) and part owner Alan Peters was third.

So at the end of another enjoyable season it is time to clean the tack, wash the colours and turn out the horses, so they can enjoy a quiet winter before the 2017 season starts early in May. There will be plenty of time for memories from this year’s racing, while plans for next year are already underway.

Detailed Results

Race 1 - Nursery
Position Horse Name Handicap Prize
1 Camden Lock 30 £0
2 Hello Vera Gate £0
3 Fire Lily Gate £0
4 Sable Sam 30 £0
Time: 2.159

Race 2 - Baby Novice
Position Horse Name Handicap Prize
1 C U Maggie Gate £25
2 Life Today 10 £10
3 Turn The Paige 10 £5
4 Habberley Anne 10 £0
5 Lakeside Glory 20 £0
Time: 2.142

Race 3 - Novice
Position Horse Name Handicap Prize
1 Touch Of Chaps 20 £25
2 Lane House Patch Gate £10
3 Forest Surprise 20 £5
4 Fronfelen Duchess 10 £0
5 George Gentle 20 £0
6 Cardigan Boy 10 £0
Time: 2.120

Race 4 - Novice
Position Horse Name Handicap Prize
1 The Wow Factor Gate £25
2 Brywins Sweetheart 10 £10
3 Sable Sam 20 £5
4 Wellfield Wally 10 £0
5 Purple Connection 20 £0
6 Tyssul Penny Lane 10 £0
Time: 2.110

Race 5 - Grade B
Position Horse Name Handicap Prize
1 For One Night Only 10 £25
2 Ayr Ontario Gate £10
3 Arctic Prince Gate £5
4 Makemeamillionayr 10 £0
5 Habberley Haste 10 £0
6 Beacon Sorcerer Gate £0
7 Kickstart Gate £0
Time: 2.097

Race 6 - Grade A
Position Horse Name Handicap Prize
1 Ithon Inmate 20 £25
2 Best of the Fleet Gate £10
3 No Mercy Gate £5
4 Habberley Playboy Gate £0
5 Saorlas Glory Gate £0
Time: 2.095

Race 7 - Grade A
Position Horse Name Handicap Prize
1 Scoobys Dream Gate £25
2 Rhyds Desire Gate £10
3 Meadowland Hasty Gate £5
4 Dernol Duke Gate £0
5 Rebus Gate £0
Time: 2.100

Race 8 - Saddle
Position Horse Name Handicap Prize
1 Meadowland Hasty 30 £25
2 Forest Surprise Gate £10
3 No Mercy 30 £5
4 Fronfelen Duchess Gate £0
5 Ithon Hannah 10 £0
Time: 2.092

Race 9 - Junior
Position Horse Name Handicap Prize
1 C U Maggie Gate £25
2 Life Today 10 £10
3 Camden Lock 50 £5
4 Brywins Sweetheart 30 £0
5 Forest Gump 70 £0
6 Kickstart 50 £0
Time: 2.123

Race 10 - Other Non Whip
Position Horse Name Handicap Prize
1 Ayr Ontario 50 £25
2 George Gentle 40 £10
3 The Wow Factor 30 £5
4 Turn The Paige 10 £0
5 Habberley Anne 10 £0
6 Hello Vera Gate £0
Time: 2.142

Race 11 - Other Reverse
Position Horse Name Handicap Prize
1 Rhyds Desire 40 £25
2 Cardigan Boy Gate £10
3 Makemeamillionayr 30 £5
4 Purple Connection 10 £0
5 Wellfield Wally Gate £0
Time: 2.115

Race 12 - FFA
Position Horse Name Handicap Prize
1 For One Night Only Gate £25
2 Ithon Inmate Gate £10
3 Best of the Fleet Gate £5
4 Scoobys Dream Gate £0
5 Saorlas Glory Gate £0
Time: 2.408

Race 13 - Other Non Drivers
Position Horse Name Handicap Prize
1 Tyssul Penny Lane 10 £25
2 Arctic Prince 30 £10
3 Habberley Playboy 50 £5
4 Lane House Patch Gate £0
5 Touch Of Chaps 20 £0
6 Habberley Haste 40 £0
7 Dernol Duke 50 £0
8 Beacon Sorcerer 30 £0
9 Rebus 50 £0
Time: 2.117